Skip to content

Lent 2011- My Thoughts

March 13, 2011
Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia


Lent doesn’t need to be such a sombre period. No doubt it is a 40 day countdown till Good Friday where Christ died for us on the cross. I find it is a good time to spend to reflect how I could improve my relationship with GOD.

Since young we have been attending mass on Ash Wednesday and have heard about sacrificing during the period of lent.  I  feel that we do not have to limit ourselves to doing sacrificing as a form of penance during lent.

By restricting ourselves of certain items we grow to live without them. In our current world of excessive personal pleasures it is good sometimes to learn to do without certain stuff like potato chips and other unhealthy snacks. I have been limiting my intake of such snacks and will try hard to go without them this 40 days.

As part of my spiritual growth plan I will be doing more reading of the scripture and recommended readings from friends.  I aim to get through reading all 66 chapters of  In Forest Fields for a start and to reflect on how I am implement his teachings to my daily life.

Monkey boy just went for his bible camp during the weekend. He mentioned that they covered the creation of the world during the camp. I intend to follow up and explain more about the book of Genesis to him during this Lenten period. I think it is a feasible goal for this season.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Comments
  1. March 13, 2011 8:47 pm

    Giving up…being somber…but there is joy. Joy as we deepen our relationship with God. Yes. I think that is the important point.

    What good does it do us to sacrifice something, but it is hollow…serving, spending more time in the Word…that is the key. Thank you for sharing.

    I am sure your son will love the time spent with you in Genesis. What a great blessing for you both!

    Blessings,
    Trish

  2. March 26, 2011 3:06 pm

    Indeed it’s very true than Lenten season is not limited to sacrifice but to reflect as well. Several years ago, as my part of my lent, I attend to recollection conducted by a parish priest, a catholic priest. It was a whole day affair, wherein the priest will discuss a part of a story of Jesus sufferings and compared it to everyday happenings of our life. Teaching the values and letting me realized all the the sins I’ve done. Therefore, making me reflect of all the things I’ve done to my life, to others. .

Comments are closed.

