Skip to content

30 Day Husband Encouragement Challenge for Wives-Working on it

May 28, 2011
Photo by PhotoXpress.com

I started doing this challenge a few months ago. However as the days passed and I got caught up in the daily grind  the challenge was gradually abandoned. I’m restarting this challenge together as I journey on 12 Days to Happiness. I’m determined that I’ll be able to see through both these challenges as we count down to our wedding anniversary on 16th June.

It hasn’t been easy staying married.  As any other couple we do have our ups and downs. It’s a constant challenge just staying connected to each other in the fast paced world that we live in. Countless chores and jobs are all around us and they distract us from concentrating on building up and maintaining our relationship.

This month I have been reflecting on how I can safeguard my marriage and prevent us from slipping from the path as seen by the evils brought upon by infidelity.

Divorce or separation are really nasty words.  I personally feel that the process of dissolving the Unity of Marriage has really been trivialized by society and media.  Many people are looking for quick fixes instead of working on the root of the problem.

To prevent drifting apart one has to be pro-active in the marriage. Individuals have a constant need to be encouraged.. what no more your own husband.

I’m starting on Day 1 today.

“The heart of her husband safely trusts her; so he will have no lack of gain. She does him good and not evil all the days of her life.” Prov. 31:11-12

 

Marriage vows  are something not made frivolously  and to be forgotten.

10 years ago on the 16th of June 2001  R and I took these vows.

“I, ______, take you, ______, to be my wife/husband. I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. I will love you and honor you all the days of my life.”

This vow is for life and I’m going to stick to it no matter how hard it is.

 

I want to thank R for sticking with me this past 10 years. I’m grateful that he is there when I need him.  I appreciate him giving me the liberty to stay at home to look after the kids while he supports the whole family. I know that it’s not easy being the sole breadwinner and I’m grateful for him taking up this challenge.

Comments are closed.

