Skip to content

Complicated Relationships

September 19, 2011

#SOCsunday

This  Sunday we attended the wedding lunch  of my cousin.  The function room was  well decorated and the bride look absolutely radiant and stunning in her wedding dress.I’m really glad that she finally tied the knot with someone who is suitable for her.  I wish her all the best.

As I grow older I find that relationships get more and more complicated. There are relationships which I have been evaluating and contemplating on whether to let them go or continue on as status.

I guess that priorities change as we age and what mattered to us back then are simply not important now. It doesn’t mean I have to go along with all the bitching and nonsense because they are relatives. Even with family members there has to be a clear understanding and sometimes boundaries have to be set. I’m sick of  hearing about all the back bitching and constant talking down about other family members  due to personal biases.

Each person does have his positive and negative traits and to harp on the negative side or invent/twist tales about the person is really disrespectful.  I personally hate gossip and people who create them. The worst thing is that they try to throw their weight around and try to dictate the way you should do things according to their fancy.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. There maybe conflicting ideas/opinions amount others but to force a person to do your bidding due to your seniority in age is really ridiculous.

As I age I’m able to see through false facades better and steer clear of these false people who worship the almighty dollar instead of GOD.

 

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes only.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post at all.things.fadra
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
2 Comments
  1. September 20, 2011 2:00 am

    I often refer back to the quote: With age comes wisdom. It’s so true and becomes especially apparent as I friend younger people. Yes, relationships are complicated and it’s important to know the ones that are healthy for you and the ones that are toxic.

  2. September 25, 2011 4:43 am

    No extended family unit is perfect – they all have quirks & kinks & biases one way or the other. Sometimes you need to just agree to disagree & not go out of your way to push someone’s buttons. Sounds like you are surrounding yourself with the positives, which is the best we can do if we want to stay happy & healthy.

Comments are closed.

