Skip to content

Insane Goals for September ~Reviewed

September 30, 2011

At the beginning of this month I joined this meme at  Simply Rebekah  to make myself more accountable and to work towards my goals.

Here is a review of what has happened in the month of September.

Weight Lost Goals- Not achieved.

My weight is still stuck at 63/64kg .

  • Stair climbing (x2) 5 times a week
    (Not faithfully done)
  • Zumba WII 3 times a week ( I only managed twice a week so far)
  • Eat more fruits and vegetables (checked!!)
  • Eat smaller portions of baked products ( stuff more to the kids/friends)
    (Have tried to eat smaller portions however I have been baking more so I guess it didn’t really work out. )
  • Try not to eat too much junk food/ drink soda. (Checked)

So far only two items have been checked off. I  need to step up effort in October if I am to see 60kg by end of December this year.

Household maintainance

  • Pack and reorganize Tiger girl’s, mine and R’s clothes drawers. ( Done!!) 
  • Organize the kids library and sort out the books. ( Yet to be completed)
  • Clear out expired stuff from the pantry. ( Partly done)
  • Clean up the fridge. (Partly done as I only managed to clear a few shelves)

My new goal for October is to finish up clearing the pantry and fridge and move on to the bookshelves.

Educating the kids

  • Make new Japanese flashcards for the card holder. ( Not done!!)
  • Teach Tiger Girl new songs in Chinese. ( I’ve taught her a few songs)
  • brushing up on Monkey boy’s comprehension skill for both English and Chinese. ( Done and still ongoing)
  • Getting Doggie boy to do more writing and sentence formation in both English and Chinese.( Done and still ongoing) 
  • Getting the kids to read more in English/Chinese before bedtime. (Done)
  • Read the bible at least once every fortnight. (We only managed to read it once in three weeks but am getting there)
  • Pray more often with them. ( WIP)

For the blog

  • Add more guest posts on Dominique’s Desk on a regular basis.
    ( I think I’ll be scrapping the guest posting for the moment and concentrate on adding more of my own content. I still welcome guest post though)
  • Finish up day 26-30 of Husbands Encouragement Wives Challenge. (Done)
  • Increase revenue to fund hosting the blog. ( Ongoing )
  • Add more short series and finish up on the book reviews. ( WIP)
    ( I’ve added more book reviews this month but haven’t had the chance to add my own short series to it as yet)

Most of the things I want done has been done and I’ll be posting my new goals for October shortly.

4 Comments
  1. October 1, 2011 2:52 pm

    Do you have guidelines set up for guest posts? I’ve only had a few on my blog, but I’ve been wondering if it would be a good idea for me to step up some guidelines. Do you have any tips for me?

    • astrodarlings permalink*
      October 1, 2011 3:09 pm

      I only have one or two so far.. I normally give a selection of topics which are accepted and review the post before actually publishing it. If I do not find the post suitable I would not publish it.. I guess that it is the case for other sites as I have submitted a few guest post but they were not published..however the site owner didn’t even bother to tell me that the post is rejected. I know that some bigger sites do list down their criteria for guest posting.. for me I put out a post http://dominiquegoh.com/2011/07/guest-bloggers-needed-august-vacation/. However there wasn’t many replies and I chose only one which had the best fit. http://dominiquegoh.com/2011/08/guest-post-the-dust-of-your-rabbi/
      I’m not actively pursuing guest posting at the moment as I feel that it would be better to concentrate on my own content.

  2. October 4, 2011 2:32 am

    The revenue end can be frustrating! I have had the most success with having friends of mine who own small businesses pay a small amount for advertising. Good luck!

    • astrodarlings permalink*
      October 4, 2011 2:22 pm

      That’s great that there are regular advertisers through small businesses. Most of my friends are working for others so it’s just basically the pathetic google adsense and occasional campaigns which I get.

Comments are closed.

